In the past, most people worked for small businesses, while more people now work for large businesses. What are the advantages and disadvantages of working for large businesses?

Nowadays, the number of big companies are increasing all around the world. Accordingly, the majority of people tend to work in these giant businesses. This essay will introduce some pros and cons of this trend. There are many advantages to working in big firms. The most significant benefit would be that they are usually better in terms of economic matters. This is, if one work in such companies, he/she will be offered better salaries. What is more, these companies have great benefit packages, including paid leaves and regular pay rise in order to employ the most qualified people. A second chief positive point might be also that working in prominent firms help individuals to boost their resumes. This is because such firms are those which have huge capital and are successful to run big and famous projects. Being a member of these projects contributes to differentiating ones' personal CVs and as a result better job opportunities in the future. It also comes with some demerits. One possible drawback would be that usually in big companies employees have less chance to get a promotion. This is not only because of the existence of a rigid hierarchy structure in these firms but because ones would have not the opportunity to make a close connection with the boss to represent their skills and abilities. Furthermore, unlike in small businesses in which people are usually multi-functional, in big groups employees will become experts in one special area. In big companies there have been different departments for each work such as the financial unit, the design unit and the human resource unit and people will be hired in one definite department with definite responsibilities. However, this is not the case in small ones. In conclusion, big companies are becoming widespread and this trend has both positive and negative effects as we discussed in this essay.