Some people think that watching TV is bad for children, while others think that watching TV has more beneficial effects on children . Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Watching TV is one of the most important children ’s leisure activities. However, the discussion now centres on whether it brings more harm than good. My view is that too much time spent on it surely has negative impacts on kids and parents should filter out the inappropriate programs and channels for them. With the rapid development of science and technology, TV shows are designed so vividly and attractively that not only kids but even adults are much easier to get addicted to them. When children spend more time sitting in front of a screen, they are isolated from the real world. They do not have enough time to socialize or to engage in outdoor activities which are crucial for their physical growth, also their eyesight will be weakened by staring at the screen for too long. Moreover, questionable content on TV will have negative effects on children since their minds are impressionable. The fact that many developing countries including China lack a TV program rating system means that children are more easily exposed to indecent TV scenes. So, TV is not always a good one in the sense that parents really can not control what comes on the screen. Of course, there are many educational and inspirational TV shows, such as Disney cartoons which enable kids to have fun in the learning process, facilitate their intellectual development and help them learn caring, sharing, courage, honesty and other virtues from an easy age. These benefits of TV on a child’s education can not be denied. In sum, spending a long time watching TV is harmful and parents should either follow TV rating guidelines or carefully choose the programs for children.