Some people think that government should invest in saving local languages while others think its a waste of money. Discuss both views and your opinion.

A few individuals believe that government should allocate resources to preserve local dialects while some dispute this idea saying its a sheer waste of money. This essay will discuss both school of thoughts and I will give my sentiment. On one hand, vernacular languages contribute to cultural diversity among communities and differentiates societies from each other. Therefore conservation of mother tongue attribute to sense of belonging among people. For instance, Americans of African origin lost their heritage as a result of neglecting their native language. Furthermore, local language enhance family bonds by enabling passing down of traditional customs to the younger generation. This is because the older generation speaks these languages fluently with their children, hence, improving communication. On the other hand, the opponents argue that, with the coming of globalisation people need to communicate using languages that can be understood by other people. This will help grow financial firms internationally, thus, bringing more revenue to the nation. For example, business meetings between international enterprises are conducted using one language. Additionally, the government can divert these resources to renovate and acquire new hospital equipment, consequently, reducing mortality and morbidity among citizens. In conclusion, both views have merits on balance. In my perception, I believe conservation of cultural heritage and improved social interactions is more important.