In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In this contemporary epoch, many advertisers claim that their goods and services are generic and different from any previous products, and this is driven by the need to increase their sales capacity. Whilst competitiveness has to be encouraged, many proponents and I believe that some of these advertising techniques can be misleading to the consumers. Thus, the reasons for that as well as my contention will be further explained in this essay. To embark on, many marketing departments, especially in multinational companies, have realized that promoting that their merchandise have distinctive features will help increase their revenues. To illustrate, when a technology firm informs its customers that their phone, computer or any new gadget has special advantages, many feel excited and rush to buy such a device, even though this might be unrealistic. An eminent example of that is when Apple announced that their new iPhone has the first and the latest facial recognition technology, despite the fact that this feature has been included in many other products such as Samsung and Sony, their sales for the iPhones has been boosted tremendously. Therefore, it can be said that claiming an authentic or outstanding characteristic for a product will probably increase its market size. However, despite the merits of these sponsered announcements, it have also some malignant effects on society because they cause an increase in unconscious consumerism-driven behaviour. In other words, if the number of commercial campaigns multiplies, the number of unnecessary items that are being bought will surge, which will cause a soaring rate of inflation and an increase in the amount of waste produced yearly. As a matter of fact, according to an article that has been published by the National Geographic magazine, increased consumption is responsible for higher plastic waste that is being dumped into oceans every year. As a result, enhanced buying by individuals and families due to monetized content may not only causes an economic recession, but also impacts the environment. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the abovementioned points, it can be reiterated that although free markets require paid promotions to keep up with the competition, it can lead to some catastrophic impacts on ecosystems and economies. Therefore, I am a staunch believer that advertising is ought to be controlled.