Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this contemporary epoch, processed nutrients have become increasingly produced and consumed, which lead to a higher prevalence of cardiovascular complications. Whilst proponents believe that extra tax should be imposed to decrease the consumption of these products, advocates have a diverse view. However, I am of the belief that unhealthy packaged food should be restricted as much as possible. Thus, this essay will be demonstrating the underlying factors for my contention. To embark on, there is no doubt that convenience food contains high levels of glucose, cholesterols, fats and other detrimental content that increase the risk of having health problems. To illustrate, if individuals intake high-calorie content, they increase the amount of energy that their body must burn otherwise it will be converted into fat, then their body will put on weight. This can be exemplified by the fact that in countries like the United States, there is an upsurge in heart diseases, diabetes, acute coronary arteries disease and other cardiovascular and metabolism-related diseases due to increased usage of street food such as Macdonalds. As a result, it can be said that these malignant effects can only be explained by the over-consumption of fast food and the change in diet. Moreover, there is in fact some solutions that have been proposed to navigate through these issues, such as introducing a new tariff on processed and unhealthy food. In other words, when the prices of these services and merchandise soar, it will become difficult for users and consumers to justify their bad dietary habits. For instance, after the United Kingdom has imposed a hefty tax on alcohol and cigarettes usage, the number of its users has significantly plummeted leading to better health conditions. Hence, introducing fines on unhealthy products purchasing, does not only promotes beneficial lifestyles, but also provides an extra income for the state. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the abovementioned points, it can be reiterated that ready-made food is unquestionably harmful to the population and patients in particular. Therefore, I am of the belief that any actions that can diminish its consumption, such as increasing its costs, can be extremely helpful.