Today, advanced science and technology have made great changes to people’s life, but artist such as musicians, painters and writers are still highly valued. What can arts tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

It is true that the development of science and high-tech contribute to a quite different world. While I still understand that new-born technic leads to a more colorful life for people, I still believe that art is necessary to most people. On the one hand, the industrial revolutions do benefit a lot the human-beings, with highly advanced innovations. For example, as the appearance of endless new products, like airplane, train and car, people could enjoy the faster and more efficient transportation system, resulting in spending more time on vacation itself other than the trip on road. Furthermore, ordinary people have more opportunity to access more information and knowledges, due to the booming of Internet. In contrast, arts offer people a chance to shake their souls, which provides humans with something different from that given by science. On the other hand, unlike the science just gives the sense of satisfaction by Material, art contributes to the satisfaction in everyone’s mind. The masterpieces, created by the great artists, are read by person to person from century to century. Moreover, the art is that normal people could have the right to give their opinions and understandings, while the science is sometimes to hard and difficult for ordinary to understand. What art could give human is not calculation and numbers, and it could illustrate mankind the power of feelings and emotions. In conclusion, although technology and science are beneficial to the whole society and high-living standard, the arts provide humans with the opportunity to reach the truly mental satisfaction and enable us to have various sense of feelings.