Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

In the present-day world, it has to be said that the core reason for road accidents is the lack of strong rules and other restrictive measures.In order to decline traffic problems; the government has to take action for avoiding offences on roads.The strict driving licence renewals in every year and increase in vehicle and fuel taxations can decrease the risk of road accidents. This essay will discuss both notions in detail with appropriate instances. To commence with, it is indeed an irrefutable fact that the assurance of road safety is very important in this fast-paced world. For example, a study was conducted by scholars of IIT Mumbai about traffic accidents and their solutions;they considered an increase in taxation on vehicles and fuel as a solution for this and applied this to a small city in India.The result shows about 80% of road accidents were reduced within 6 months.In the light of this relevance, the government of India has been started to take action towards this traffic issue all over India. To continue, it is paramount to consider driving licence renewal and strict actions every year and strict rules on road accidents to secure our roads with good drivers. For instance, a piece of news was published in a Hindu Newspaper about the importance of driving licence renewal every year; otherwise, it may pave the way for lethargic driving. In the light of this relevance, the road safety department in India has been started to think about this. In conclusion, it is proven that strict punishments and other measures like; increasing the vehicle and fuel tax can reduce the risk of road accidents.