Some experts say for road safety cyclists should pass a test before being allowed on public roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that there must be certain tests that cyclists go through before they are allowed to pedal on public roads. This essay strongly disagrees with this idea because cyclists rarely exceed the speed limit and this test will deter people from cycling and increase the use of environmentally unfriendly transportation. Lots of people pedaling on the road which is very enjoyable and rarely exceeds the speed limit. This is because the bicycle does not have an engine and only uses chains and wheels to move. People rarely drive fast because it is hard for them to pedal fast. For example, in most cases, the average speed of one cycle is between 20 and 30 km/h, which is not very dangerous. Instead of giving tests to cyclists, it is always better to share separate lanes for them. Exclusive lanes for cyclists not only ensure their safety on the road but also allow for smooth traffic. Another reason is that the testing requirements will prevent cyclists from riding and they prefer to use vehicles that are not environmentally friendly. Instead of paying for exams or meeting requirements, people prefer to travel by public transportation, such as buses or trains. This will increase air pollution as a global issue. For example, In Japan, most students pedal to their school and if the government strictly regulates driving tests, for example weight fees or certain age requirements, those students will not be eligible to use pedals on the road and they will choose to leave by bus or train. In conclusion, there is no need to regulate cyclists on public roads because they rarely exceed the speed limit and this can increase the use of unfriendly transportation leading to global air pollution problems.