In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

In many administrative regions, some individuals hold the opinion that the government should investigate high-speed railway construction, while some claim that the present transportation infrastructure should be improved a lot. My opinion is the government should pay more attention to connecting more metropolia by building new railway routes. Firstly, building more high-speed train routes contribute a lot to economic development. The time for transporting goods has been greatly shortened, which makes more business possible. For example, the seafood only produced in some coastal downtown can be transported to more remote places in a short time aided by high-speed railways, which helps the development of local industries. Furthermore, building high-speed railway lines boost communication and tourism. People have a stronger willingness to visit some beautiful but distant attractions, which not only benefits the communication of individuals from different areas but also contribute a lot to local tourism. On the other hand, perfecting existing transportation systems is beneficial for citizens. People living in the city can feel more comfortable and convenient when taking public transport. However, this action may lead to inequalities in society. For example, people who live in someplace may think they are treated unfairly since their metropolis have not been connected to other regions by high-speed railways while the government investigate more money to improve those who already have high-speed railways. In addition, the economic and population gap between these metropolia may widen. Overall, although promoting existing public transportation has advantages, I believe building more and more highways is a better choice.