Nowadays plastic money replacements such as credit and debit cards are extremely popular, even more than banknotes and coins. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, almost everyone uses credit and debit cards instead of the more traditional forms of money such as banknotes and coins. This shift in behaviour has resulted in some positive- and negative developments in comparison with the old situation. Hereafter will I come up with some advantages and disadvantages as a result of this change. Firstly, it has become easier to bring your capital with you. In the past people needed to bring their wallets filled with a lot of physical money. This was because they had to pay, for,instance their groceries, with this 'physical money '. The new way of doing transactions by card has resulted in the need for less cash because it is now enough to bring a small card with you. This card fits for example between your phone and phone case, so it will not take a lot of space. Furthermore, the shift in the payment method had also ensured a decrease in criminality on the streets. In the past, there was always a chance that you could be robbed on the street and directly lost all the cash you had taken with you. This is not the case with credit- and debit cards. Take as a template credit cards, If these cards get stolen the robbers can only take a certain amount of money from the card. Next to that, at the moment you know that you lost your card, you can directly make a call to your bank to block your bank account. On the contrary, there is also a disadvantage to this transformation. People will spend money because they do not have the feeling that they are actually spending money. Consequently, they will spend more than possible. For instance, a lot of poor people usually pay with cash. By doing this, they have better control over their financial position. In conclusion, the change from physical to digital money has led to more user-friendly applications and had reduced the rate of criminality, Nevertheless can it also lead to financial problems for some households.