Write about the following topic: Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Permanent government employees are entitled to many perquisites during and a post-service period. I think they should pay back to the community by sharing their knowledge and time. To begin with, since the regime is providing many benefits to public servants, it is their moral responsibility to support back which will aid in offloading part of the economic burden of the nation. Post-retirement, for example, if pensioners contribute their couple of hours voluntarily doing some admin work, then much of the remuneration efforts can be saved which can assist the government to save some funds. Hence, by providing a few hours of their time, senior citizens would contribute indirectly to the country's economy. Furthermore, long-term employees have gained vast experience during their career which can be considered a majorly earned asset and sharing such wealthy knowledge with juniors will not only save their upskilling time but also make them efficient in their work. To illustrate, though workers are getting training periodically regarding technology upgradation from the respective department, if experienced persons share their real-life experiences which they have faced during their job, then an inexperienced one would be prepared to tackle such challenges efficiently. Thus, knowledge sharing will surge the confidence of beginners and much of the training exercises could be saved by legislation. To conclude, public service is associated with many lucrative benefits for full-time servants, and everyone would like to enjoy it. However, it is the onus of individuals to support the community by doing voluntary work so that some of the economic burdens can be alleviated and legislators can develop a strong workforce.