In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of this phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

Numerous sportier have been accused of being involved in doping cases since the bygone era and the number is rising so far. This problem stems from fan pressure and greed for money; however, if anti-doping tests are held in front of the public and awareness campaigns are organised by states, this issue could be ameliorated to quite an extent. Admittedly, the sports industry have not become the targetted arena by so many sports admirers for no reason. It is indeed because of the huge sums of money that a winning candidate received,after winning the Olympics or international events. Who can forget Neeraj Chopra,the gold medalist of the Olympics,who was awarded crores of cash prizes by the Indian government and states. This desire of being rich urges the professionals to choose the wrong way of boosting their performance with drug boosters to outperform in the competition. Another reason that fosters them to take this drastic decision is the pressure from the audience.Since a huge fan following is developed after any sports personnel came into the limelight,the more the appreciation from the public,the more the expectations from the audience. Therefore, when it comes to not performing well in IPL or Rugby tournaments, the fear of hatred spread by the masses stimulates the famous stars to rely on medicines rather than their own strength. Notwithstanding this, the solution of becoming a hawk eye by the higher authorities can only halt this escalating problem of doping. Anti-doping tests should be held before the public in the sports arena randomly,the news of which should be confined to a specific set of people from the Intelligence bureau. The fear of being caught by media live on Tv will certainly stop young professionals to do such a sin. Not only this, competitors should be educated via awareness campaigns regarding the dire consequences of the termination of their sports license and freezing accounts, if found guilty of doping, so a fear of a devastating career halts them to be a prey of such scandals. For instance, Ben Johnson, an athlete from Canada,admitted after being caught taking steroids in the Olympics that should hehas known about the results of doping earlier,he would never have gone for such a thing. In conclusion, the hatred from social media and the thirst for living a luxurious lifestyle motivates sportsmen to depend on drugs before entering the sports fields, while doping tests and awareness campaigns are organised by the government, this issue could be dealt with on some level.