Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that all students should be forced to get involved in community service for free. Personally, I am totally convinced by the idea for some reasons mentioned in this essay. On the one hand, taking part in those voluntary activities brings many benefits to students. Voluntary work provides high school undergraduates with many valuable competent abilities such as organizing an event, planning, time management, coordination and problem-solving skills. Thanks to these life skills, they gain more points if they apply for a job offered by a particular company. The fact is that the majority of teenagers spend most of their spare time browsing the internet or watching TV which makes them lose points in the recruiters' eyes. For instance, many recruiters favour their candidates who have as many extra-curricular activities as possible because these people are believed to be more responsible. On the other hand, spending time in social activities does add more value to participants. When joining those programmes, they have a sense of empathy with unlucky and underprivileged fellows and more appreciate what they currently get. For example, if children are preparing free meals for the poor after school, they will be more mature and not waste food anymore. Another scheme that students can take part in is planting more trees along the streets and collecting rubbish. That makes their neighbourhood more beautiful and cleaner. Furthermore, senior undergraduates can teach junior ones some tips and tricks in playing sports like football or basketball. In conclusion, based on those reasons listed, I hold a strong belief that compulsory voluntary community service in secondary school should be considered an effective tool in shaping a child's mindset and characteristics.