In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In European countries, many schools are putting emphasis on developing practical skills from an early age with the view that it will assist students to find a job. Admittedly, other education institutions are following standard teaching methodologies. In this essay, I will discuss that institutes should focus on the rudiments of subjects before the practical. Conventional wisdom says that pragmatic learning gives exposure to deal with real-time problems which can be helpful to build a strong career in early life. For example, teaching programming skills to young ones and allowing them to build mobile applications to disrupt real-life challenges will certainly make the person a rising star in the corporate world. However, hands-on experience cannot be achieved unless proper theoretical knowledge is obtained; hence, teaching them theory first would be more appropriate learning. Needless to mention, without having strong fundamentals, it will be difficult to grasp the subject. Firstly, the majority of educational institutes are mainly focusing on making roots strong. Secondly, they believe that the mind of learners develops with time; thus it should not be overloaded with very complex learning at pre-age. For instance, to develop any software, they need to have knowledge of programming languages like C, C++ and PHP which is very difficult to adapt for teenagers. Therefore, teachers should teach such types of skills after certain standards when a child is completely ready. To conclude, many teaching academies in global territories from Europe prefer to train their students with practical talent after the age of 10 years. They believe that this way they are preparing young adults for employment. On the contrary, others are following the traditional approach. I think the schooling system should focus on cultivating the mind of juveniles by providing them with sufficient theoretical lectures then only they should move them to the empirical sessions.