Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times, people are generating abundant waste. I believe this is largely attributed to the drastic changes of urbanisation such as immediate availability of resources, lesser costs and large quantities produced in the industry. Still, it can be curbed if the government controls them by prohibitive laws. To begin with, the major factor for producing more garbage is that many items and resources are easily accessible to a wider group of people, particularly in urban zones. In other words, many can avail and purchase from a plethora of things in a nearby store. Thus, buying more than necessary leads to wastage. Secondly, it is produced in humongous quantities in the industry. Thirdly, some consumer products are increasingly used by each household, which can potentially generate dangerous, non-environment friendly waste, like refrigerators, ACs and automobiles. For instance, almost all families own a car. However, it can be controlled when the government issues required laws to increase the cost of un-recyclable, un-reusable items. For example, the usage of plastic can be reduced by this. Additionally, it should closely observe the outcome generated by the factories and pass a law on the maximum cap. Furthermore, it should organize campaigns to create awareness on the non-eco-friendly resources that can not be recycled or reused and how to reduce them. To conclude, to cope with the alarming rates of garbage production, it has to take immediate action, along with individuals trying to reduce it. I think it should make laws to increase the costs of a few products and set restrictions on the industry.