Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory partofhigh school programmes To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals argue that unpaid community service should be mandatory in high school programmes. In my opinion, that is a mistake because high school students could take more advantage of their time by learning new things. It is certainly true that people can benefit from doing charitable work, however, teenagers are in a crucial part of their academic life. They need to prepare for tertiary education and college degrees are getting harder every year. Therefore the time should be better spent learning the skills they are going to need in the future. For example, the tests to be admitted in some university courses such as medicine are getting more difficult because a wider range of knowledge is required to pass them. This means that more time must be spent studying subjects such as biology even though the amount of time teenagers spend in middle education has not changed. Another problem with this idea is that if it is implemented, students would work only because they need to do it and not because they want to help people. This could make them think that all charitable work is done only by people that are forced to do it. The empathy and altruism that are a fundamental part of helping others would be lost. An example of why this can be problematic is that it is known that the most efficient charitable organizations are those with the highest proportion of voluntary work. To conclude, because high school students need to focus on obtaining the skills and knowledge they are going to need after school and because the key elements of charitable work are gone when it becomes compulsory, I opine that the disadvantages of this idea outweigh the advantages.