Completing university education is the thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both the sides and give your opinion.

It is often argued that tertiary education is the most preferred way to attain better employment, whilst others disgree and believe that having experience and softs kills is more beneficial. This essay discusses both perspective and why I believe that university education imparts in-depth knowledge which plays a pivotal role in the future career. On the one hand, there are people who believe that experience and developing soft skills prove more advantageous in getting better jobs. This is because it is highly competitive to get the jobs these days. Most companies prefer candidates with wide range of experience and skills. As a result, they spend less resources on teaching fresh employees and it leads to enhance their productivty at work. For instance, In India, the primary requirement of multinational companies in the IT sector is those candidates who have minimum of five years work experience. Therefore, in order to get the better jobs students should possess qualities like teamwork, positive work ethics and time management skills, in addition to experience. However, I agree with those who believe that completing university education plays a crucial role in obtaining better employment. It is certainly important to have tertiary education because it provides in-depth knowledge of subject which makes the students stand out among the crowd. To illustrate this, a study concluded that students who have completed tertiary education, have high probability of landing up with good jobs in comparsion to those who have only experience and no degrees. Thus, having university degrees completed enhances the chances of getting better employment. In conclusion, although possessing experience and traits like creative thinking and leadership can be helpful in securing better jobs. I firmly believe that university degrees have upper hand in obtaining good jobs. This because it enriches the knowledge which is beneficial in future career.