Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Nowadays the world is facing massive transportation problems. This is due to an increase in traffic and the air contamination associated with it. It is often argued that the most effective solution to such constraints could be increasing the price of petrol. Personally, I believe this is an excellent approach to tackle the issue since it will encourage folk to travel in a more efficient way. First of all, if the cost of travelling is higher, the community will seek cheaper means of transportation. For example, co-workers could arrange a carpooling system. By doing so, there would be a reduction in the number of cars on the road, thus leading to a reduction in traffic congestion. Additionally, this increase could encourage the population to use their bikes rather than cars or buses, which contaminate less. There are other actions that could aid in solving such matters. For instance, finding alternative sources of energy that are environmentally friendly, such as solar energy. Moreover, if governments could encourage their citizens to use public transportation more often, it could reduce the number of vehicles used on a daily commute. In my view, increasing the price of petrol is the best way forward since the majority of the public only make significant changes in their lives once their economy is compromised. To conclude, although there might be several ways to reduce traffic and pollution, I completely agree that the best approach to solve this issue is to increase the cost of every trip by increasing the cost of petrol.