Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sport facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that building more places where people can play sports is the most effective way to improve the health of the population while others claim that this would have only a negligible effect on public health. This essay agrees with the latter rather than the former view, however, both of them will be analyzed. It is certainly true, that building a new sports facility has positive effects on people's behaviour. For example, if the new facility allows playing a sport that was not possible to practice before then people that do not play any sport would be able to try it for the first time and some of them can get engaged and start playing it. Therefore, this can make otherwise sedentary people exercise. However, the majority of the changes that the new facility brings are only temporary or they make only a little difference. Returning to the example, uncommon sports are only played by a reduced number of people and most of the new players quit practising the sport in the first months. On the other hand, other measures such as teaching sports and the importance of doing exercise in high school and college have proved to be more effective. Making people aware of the importance of playing sports is something that can create an everlasting change in their behaviour because learning the devastating effects that sedentarism has on health can make people start a new healthier lifestyle. Additionally, there are other measures that are not related at all to sports because health is not only dependent on the amount of physical activity but also on diet, stress level and the consumption of drugs. Those are other factors that must be taken into account in order to develop ideas to improve public health. To conclude, even though building a new sports facility can be positive, other measures such as teaching about health in school can be more effective because their effects last longer and reach more people.