Many high street shops have gone out of business in recent years. Why do you think this has happened? Is it a positive or negative development?

An increasing number of the high street stores has indeed closed their business and I believe that the development of online shopping is the main reason for this trend. I think that it has more positive impact on our daily lives. A growing number of people have chosen to shop online because online shopping is faster, cheaper and more convenient. People can sit at home and simply search the items they want to purchase on their computer. They can easily have all the best deals at their fingertips within few minutes. Once the order has been placed, it can usually be received within two to three business days. This is impossible for the stores to compete. For example, I bought a iPhone case and a screen protector on Amazon last Friday with free delivery and received those items the following Monday. Online shopping has many positive impacts on our everyday lives. It provides us with a world of choice without physically visiting the shops. This is a great solution for people who have a tight schedule or those who can not leave the house. On the other hand, the bankruptcy of high street shops has caused rising unemployment. This also eliminates peoples’ face to face communication as they do not go out shopping with friends as much as they do before. In conclusion, I believe that the growing of online shopping is largely to blame for the closing of high street stores. But I think the advantages of this trend out-weigh the disadvantages.