In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

A great number of elderlies are spending the last years of their lives at nursing houses, which requires a great deal of money to take care of them. There is much controversy over the most responsible party to pay this fee. It is noteworthy to bear in mind that both families and governments have a duty toward the old generation; however, I believe that the government should take the responsibility for this payment. The following essay will overlook two rationales behind my idea. Firstly, one of the main reasons for the government being responsible is taxes. By paying a proportion of salaries monthly as a tax, people are investing for their retirements. For instance, although this money is expected to be used for the improvement of the cities' fundamentals, a worker justifies this money with not only the development of their neighbourhood's facilities but also the receprocating reciprocation of their services and favour in future. Therefore, a country's citizens are paying taxes and taking care of their towns during their young ages and the government should take care of them in a time that they need. Secondly, taking care of the old folks is a hard job that needs good income to regulate properly. For example, elderlies usually are taking numeruous medications and varouse types of foods to provide the necessary nutrients for their health, which is not affordable for most of families due to the recent inflation. Consequently, providing the essential services to take care of this age group as they deserved is not feasible unless by the intervention of administrations. To sum up, governments are expected to specify a budget for providing appropriate services for old people. I believe that taxes they paid during their working years and the ability of governments to cover these expenses bring this duty for them.