Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people can buy the same products anywhere around the globe. Hence, it seems that countries are becoming more and more similar. While some societies thought that this has a positive effect, I think otherwise. There are some obvious advantages of this kind of development. For instance, if people can buy the same goods anywhere, it implies mass production. With mass production, the cost of the products can reduce dramatically. Consequently, communities can own similar items at much lower prices. However, some negative impacts could be taken into consideration. Often these kinds of things are not produced locally, therefore the carbon footprints of these items are likely to be higher. Another impact may be the decrease in cultural diversity, as nations all around the world are becoming alike. The fall of cultural diversity could also affect cultural identity, Children of a country will be less likely to know their own culture because the things they have encountered during childhood are foreign. Eventually, some already rare or endangered cultures might face the fate of extinction. As cultural diversity declines, furthermore, there will be inevitable damage to the tourism industry. When most countries are almost identical, societies will certainly find travelling to another country less thrilling. As a result, they will spend less money on sightseeing in foreign countries. In conclusion, I personally believe globalisation definitely has a positive effect. However, if it starts to put other cultures at risk, people should think twice before embracing it. Governments as well should start protecting their own unique culture, with a limited extent of globalisation.