employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as thier hobbies or interests, and whether they are married or single. some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. others disagree. discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the employment of the right people for the right positions has been the subject of discussions. Some employers believe personal data related to the job applicants ought to be asked and considered during the recruitment process, while others opine that this information is irrelevant. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I will discuss both views. I, myself, agree with the latter one. On the one hand, some employers think ones’ characteristics play a significant role in choosing one for the right job vacancy. This means, if a manager wanted to find a suitable person for a position correctly, he/she would need to gain some information about applicants’ character by means of asking questions such as how they spend their leisure time, their favourite sport or even their marital status. The answers to these questions could reveal some important people’s traits. For example, if a person has a very fixed routine every day without fail, he/she may not be appropriate for those challenging jobs needing a high level of flexibility. On the other hand, others say that employment should be done based on ones’ qualifications. The only important factor in making the decision to recruit individuals would be their education, work experience and skills. If a vacancy was there, employers ought to consider which person’s qualifications match best with the job requirements. This is not only advantageous for the company but also quite fair for applicants. This is why, in many developed countries like Canada, it is banned that people to include personal information in their resumes. Such countries have gone further and even don’t ask about ones’ gender, age, nationality or even picture. To conclude, although data about hobbies and interests could be helpful in recognition of humankinds’ characters, in order to make a more rational and just decision this information ought to be ignored by employers.