Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

In the present-day world, Illiteracy is being concerned by many countries. I believe there are two main causes of being unlettered in the present times and a number of damaging effects. Probably the main cause is can be abysmal poverty; having an extremely poor and bad living condition mainly results in lacking an education. For example, parents who live in low-income homes are less likely to send their children to school to literate; in addition, they can not afford to buy school supplies. Another cause is that people living in remote areas tends to stay illiterate. Remote areas are far away from civilization; therefore, it is impracticable for participate in socializing. The effects of this problem on the people and society can be quite serious. Firstly, there can be communication problems such as online communication which is being widely used across the globe for both professional and personal purposes. It occurs via e-mail, social media, sites, chat rooms and blogs. Thus, communicating to individuals who do not read and write is quite challenging for people. Secondly, illiteracy may impact on society an unhealthy way. Statistics agree that people struggling with literacy mostly miss out on opportunities to participate fully in society and workplace. This situation exacerbates their source of income; on the other hand, they will have no tax liability. In conclusion, the causes of this trend are primarily to do with poverty, and the effects are involved both the individuals and society.