Some people think that children who spend a lot of time reading children's story books are wasting their time which could be better used doing other more useful activities. To what extent do you agree?

Reading a lot of storybooks as a scion's leisure activity is debatable. Some people claim that it is a waste of time instead children can do other useful activities. I completely disagree with this statement. Reading the storybooks improve the language skills of children and other useful exercise like playing outdoor games, drawing and painting might not be of any help to a child who is not interested in these activities. Firstly, reading a storybook at an early age will improve a juvenile's learning ability. In addition, the expression skills will develop, for instance, offspring can develop good vocabulary and grammar. Moreover, the cognitive ability of these tender brains will develop when they read more storybooks. For example, Sherlock Holmes the great detective writer was a voracious reader during his childhood days. Therefore, reading storybooks is not a waste of hours instead it will help the heir to develop their vocabulary skills. Secondly, other useful activities like playing games outside, drawing or painting might not suit everyone. Because some children who are physically challenged cannot play outside. Similarly, not all children are interested in art, instead they may prefer to study. To cite an example, I was never interested in drawing or painting during my childhood days, despite my parents insisted that it was a good activity. Although some free time activities are universally accepted as good, still reading storybooks is not a bad choice. In fact, it has more positive effects on the overall personality development of a child. In conclusion, even though free- time activities like drawing and painting are useful, some children might not be interested. However, spending time reading story books will benefit children to enhance their language skills. As a result, it is not a waste of time instead every child must be encouraged to read books.