Some people believe that exams are an inappropriate way of measuring students’ performance and should be replaced by continuous assessment. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

Exams have long been regarded as the best tool for evaluating a students ’ academic performance; however they still remain some restrictions. I would argue that the exam method should be tailored to each individual student’s character. There is no denying that students perform better in continuous assessments if they have good self-discipline. This kind of people have a strong sense of urgency. They always make sure that they perform consistently well in continuous assessment. Whereas, students who do not have good self-discipline will struggle with continuous assessment as their habits of procrastination will get in the way of them performing well in each continuous assessment. On the other hand, it does not mean that students who do not have good self-discipline will necessarily perform any worse in an exam than students who have great self-discipline. The former probably prefer putting all their concentration on an exam to diverting their concentration on different assessments, as the former’s sense of urgency tends only to pick up near an exam period that is on a unrepeatable basis. Merely because students study at the last minute does not mean that their understanding of a topic will not be as good as students who study consistently. On the other hand, students who have good self-discipline and study consistently may also experience burnout near an exam period, thereby not performing as well as they should have. In conclusion, I think that neither exams nor continuous assessment is the best tool for measuring students ’ performance and that the exam method should be tailored to each individual student’s character.