Not enough students around the world choose to study science subjects at university. What are the reasons for this? What impact does this issue have on society?

Education plays a big role in human life because it is needed globally to get acknowledgement and esteem in society. However, nowadays, people are not opting for science-related subjects to study. This essay will examine the reasons and impacts of the above-mentioned issues in detail in the following paragraphs. To begin with, the present-day generation is too optimistic about arts and business related-subjects. This is because of more job opportunities and great pay. Besides this, all the professions like lawyers, lecturers and accountants receive good esteem from the community. In addition, the noticeable one is, that girls in certain states of India are discouraged to take science-related subjects as it is not considered morally right. To summarise, job opportunities, good pay, and consideration are some of the main reasons people study other courses rather than science. On the contrary, the above-mentioned problem has the worst demerits. Like, shortages of nurses, doctors, researchers and IT professionals worldwide. During this pandemic situation, for example, there is a worldwide shortage of medical staff at hospitals. To exemplify, a recent study report from World Health Organisation proved that, there is one nurse caring for two to four patients in the Intensive Care Unit due to staff shortages which is actually unethical. As a result of this, the patients may not receive quality care. To summarise, the impact of the above-mentioned issue is a deficit number of medical healthcare staff globally. Finally, students should give importance to all subjects equally. Because the world needs all professionals.