In cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

In the metropolitan cities, there has been a surge in traffic. The people face enormous problems due to an increase in the automobiles on the roads. This essay will illustrate the reasons for the disturbing growth in traffic congestion, and in addition to that, it will shed light on the solutions to avoid it in subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, the predominant reason for unprecedented growth in traffic is flexible rules. To illustrate this view, cities like New Delhi and Bangalore have recorded the highest number of traffic penalties in the last three years and yet, these cities charge the bare minimum in road fines. Moreover, another critical reason that yields humongous traffic is overpopulation. Overpopulation leads to mismanagement and consequently, that results in inexorable chaos. In order to manage a huge volume of automobiles on the road, the government should come up with stringent rules. For instance, the Gulf countries have imposed exorbitant fines pertaining to breaking traffic rules. This ensures the citizens of the country avoid breaking rules. Lastly, the concerning bodies should promote public transport in the nation. In addition to that, there should be a limitation on the usage of private vehicles. To exemplify, the Chief Minister of Delhi introduced an Odd-Even policy that allowed only odd and even car numbers to run on alternate days respectively. This resulted in bringing down the traffic. To conclude, the unexpected growth in traffic congestion is due to lenient rules and overpopulation. To manage the chaos on roads, the governing bodies should impose adamant traffic rules and exorbitant penalties.