Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when travelling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

Working remotely has been a popular trend in Corona times. Thanks to modern internet services, one need not be present in the office to complete their work. Although there are some negatives, lesser in-person interaction and slower speed of teamwork, the positives, extra savings and greater family time weigh much more than them. Talking about pros, remote working enables individuals to save more money. Since they are not required to travel daily for work, travel cost is saved. In addition, one can further increase their savings by living in outer skirts which are more affordable than living nearby an office. For instance, during the pandemic most people saved on their house rent and daily commute cost as they had the option to work from their hometowns. Lastly, one can enjoy a better work -life balance since they can spend more time with their families working from home. However, there are certain negatives to people continuing to work remotely for longer durations. Firstly, it results in fewer people having face-to-face interactions which can often weaken team bonding and the overall morale of the team and individuals. For example, most employees working remotely complain of not being able to develop strong connections with their peers as they believe physical interaction is missing. Secondly, the pace of work also goes down as communicating only over video calls is not as effective as real-time personal communication. Having said that, these issues can be resolved by better planning and offices enabling individuals to choose a hybrid working style. In conclusion, while there are obvious cons of remote working, the positives are way more beneficial. Furthermore, the negative effects can be lowered via having both options of working from the office or home.