Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favouring more computer based subjects instead. Is this a positive or negative development? What are the reasons for this?

There are split opinions regarding the importance of the school curriculum.It has become evident that there has been a shift among secondary and university students away from traditional sciences and towards IT-based subjects.Both have their pros and cons.Before commenting on my decision,I would like to discuss its reasons and the overall negative development of the trend. Out of all reasons,the foremost one is the rise in the popularity of IT and similar computer-based subjects are unsurprising given how pervasive computer technology is within society. Our lives are so dependent on devices and the Internet that it has become one of the world’s main industries. Additionally, the media is full of stories of tech start-ups that have made their founders and inventors into millionaires or even billionaires, so it is easy to see why young people would be attracted to the industry as a field of study. It certainly seems a safer bet than a career in science, which typically requires a longer-term commitment and at least at first glance fewer rewards in terms of salary and social prestige. In the contrast, both academia and society as a whole depend on a sustainable stream of talented scientists, to push the boundaries of what is possible. These are the people who develop our medicines, design our cars, improve our manufacturing processes, and invent new materials - the list is endless and their work is vital for maintaining and improving the quality of life that we enjoy. A fall in the number of students taking sciences leads to a fall in the number of talented people doing such valuable work. In conclusion, the move towards computer-based subjects and careers is understandable, given the importance of the computing industry in today’s world. On the flip side, if this is at the expense of having new scientists and engineers, then it will be a very detrimental effect.Without scientific innovation, the world will be a very different place.