People living in large cites today face many problems in their everyday life. What are these problems? Should governments encourage people to move to smaller regional towns? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In recent years, living in urban areas is increasingly becoming a challenge for a myriad of people to survive. This is due to the high cost of living and it should be seen as a positive development because it improves a person's financial status. Firstly, overpricing of basic needs is one of the major problems many city dwellers are facing. This is because of the high demand for certain products, such as accommodation, transport and food etc. As a result, the population offering these services take advantage and sells at exorbitant prices regardless of the initial price. For example, a Newyork based researcher published an article which proved that for every single apartment available to let, ten folks are willing to pay for it. Therefore, low merchandise supply, negatively affects the customers. Furthermore, air pollution is another drawback faced by urban residents. This is happening because of too many industries found in town. Some of the companies are producing high amounts of greenhouse gasses, which contaminate the environment. For this reason, many health problems arise from inhaling bad air. On the other hand, counter urbanisation should be welcomed because of its positive economic benefits. Rural towns offer unique business opportunities, due to untapped natural resources. As a consequence, folks are able to make enough cash to cover basic needs and save the extra cash. For instance, the public can invest in commercial farming, this is possible in rural areas because of adequate land for agricultural expansion, subsequently, the farm produce can be sold to supermarkets. Thus, improving both the individual and the state economy. To sum up, people in urban areas are spending a lot of money buying basic needs and are at risk of dying from pollution-related illnesses. However, urban to rural migration must be welcomed because of its financial positives.