Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations.Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. (Cam 14 test 1)

Some people claim that when there is an unsatisfying situation, the best approach is to accept it, while others feel that trying to make it better is preferable. Although accepting a bad situation means that there will be no risk, I agree with the latter point of view, because only when the situation is improved can a person become happier. On the one hand, it can be argued that staying in an unpleasant situation allows people to avoid risks. This is because when a person makes a change, things may not turn out the way they thought they would. As a consequence, they may even lose what they had. For example, if people quit the corporate job they hate but fail to find a new one, they will even lose the income their old job provided. However, I disagree with this argument because if a person endures a bad situation for too long, they may develop mental health problems. On the other hand, those who try to improve their unsatisfactory situations can find ultimate happiness. Working hard to change the status quo gives people a goal to achieve in life. This makes them much happier since humans are goal-driven creatures. Take for example the Chinese entrepreneur Alex Wong, who went from being broke to owning a multimillion-dollar business. He shared in an interview that the whole journey made him feel very fulfilled. I think this approach is much better because an unhappy life is not worth living. In conclusion, although those who play safe will not face any risks, I believe people should put effort into improving the unpleasant situations they are in because this allows them to live a happier life.