Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

At this present time, it is believed by some that high sales of popular commodities are a sign of powerful advertising and it does not mean that society actually needs that product. I completely agree with this statement. In this essay, the reasons for this will be discussed. To begin with, people tend to use familiar brands and commodities that have been advertised before, because they trust them more even if they do not need them. To illustrate this, recent studies have shown that the public tends to use famous products because they think that those goods are more effective and also safe and they are sceptical of unknown commodities even if there is no evidence to support them. For instance, many buy apple products solely because of their brand. Therefore, society has more tendency to use highly advertised brands and they prefer them even if they do not need them. Lastly, marketing today relies on artificial intelligence and its goal is to sell more commodities to more people and it does not care if they need them or not. This can be seen in online adverts. AI uses the public's data to use more efficient ways to sell things to them. For example, studies have shown that people like to buy things they do not need with AI designed adverts. Thus, using AI to maximize our marketing abilities will make us ignore the needs of our customers. To conclude, companies usage of technologies such as artificial intelligence makes them ignore the needs of customers and branding which makes customers trust them even if they do not need them. In my view, it is obvious that popular goods are bought because they were well-advertised. Given the circumstances, it is recommended to involve the government to try to correct this process.