More and more people today are moving away from where their friends and family live. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

We live in a society where technology has taken over the world at large. Urbanized lifestyles in cities are inclining. People move to cosmopolitan cities in search of jobs, studies and to pursue their dreams. However, this may require us to separate from our own families and friends. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of moving away from our loved ones. To begin with, people are more attracted to major cities, as it is close to all amenities. Moreover, youngsters come to towns for many career opportunities. For example, due to the current economic crisis in Srilanka, the younger generation is migrating. This is indeed a good course for their future. Nevertheless, leaving behind the family is certainly one of the disadvantages. Some may meet with their families annually or even less frequent than that. This will ultimately give rise to social issues like divorce, depression, and loneliness. We might lose good friends over time. On the other hand, obligations and dreams require us to move from one place to another. To be happy, achieve our goals, have an identity and pursue our dreams we might have to leave the once we care about. Finally to conclude I think leaving our family and friends behind for our betterment will overweigh the disadvantages. Furthermore, regretting in the end for not having the life we wished for is dissatisfying. Although it is our duty to look after our family, they should not be forgotten.