Social networking is being used more for personal and professional purposes. Many people believe this is a positive trend whereas others say that it is leading to negative consequences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have become increasingly reliant on social media when it comes to networking with friends and business. Some argue that this phenomenon has more benefits than harms, while others advocate that the disadvantages brought outweigh the advantages. Personally, I think the current trend is positive. Social networking apps have lowered the effectiveness of communication. Because of the convenience of these apps, the majority of people prefer to connect via texting rather than face-to-face talking. This will lower the quality of confabulations, as texts cannot indicate the emotion of the text sender. The lack of emotion will have a negative impact on “emotional intelligence”, which is crucial for human interaction However, apps like Facebook and WeChat have multiple advantages that cannot be overlooked, such as the high speed of getting messages across and the effectiveness of cooperation with people from other nations. Socializing apps allow the easy sending and receiving of messages and files. Texts, images and documents can be instantly sent using Facebook, while it takes months for a letter or parcel to reach its intended destination. Using social networking apps for business and academic purposes is an attractive option. Often, a conference involving professors or managers of different nationalities can be hard to organize and costly, however, social media allows persons from different regions to cooperate easily. Many companies have taken their boardroom meetings online, as they find online conferences are a much more effective and cheaper alternative to onsite meetings. To conclude, although social networking websites may lower “emotional intelligence”, the speed and convenience of texting is more important. Furthermore, cooperation at a large scale is easier and cheaper on social media.