It is not necessary to travel to other places to learn the culture of other people. We can learn just as much from books, films and the internet . Do you agree or disagree?

Learning about other countries and cultures has become a popular topic recently. There is an argument that a person does not have to travel to another region to get acquainted with a new culture and he / she can achieve this goal by reading, watching movies and surfing the internet which I partially agree with. On the one hand, these types of gaining knowledge about other places are acceptable at some point. Watching movies or researching through the internet usually reveals information about foods or costumes of that region. People can also learn a new language in this way which is the basic but fundamental step of getting familiar with another culture. For example, if someone desires to learn English, building an environment of this language by watching movies or reading books as well as websites in English will boost his / her progress. On the other hand, these ways of learning are all virtual and not thorough. An individual who wants to learn about a new culture needs to experience it his / herself. In other words, he / she should have real interactions with local people to find out about their way of life. Movies are usually presented the good parts of culture while everything is a combination of white and black and this will not be revealed without going to the target place. For instance, a person may know the USA as a utopia by watching some movies and reading novels whereas by travelling he / she will experience reality. In conclusion, although people can learn about other cultures in different ways such as through movies or reading, I believe that going to the country with that culture is vital as well.