There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment

One of the most powerful educational assessments is making a test to students at ending of the course. Some people argue that the exam results can show the real capabilities, while some educators say teachers should assess based on the assigned tasks at least once a week. In this following essay, I will discuss both sides of these views. To start with the benefit of the exam, it is usually a standardized way to evaluate the students. Tests have been designed for all learners equally in same class level at the end of term period. Some countries have the same test in each class level and launch them to either private or public schools, they are called "National Test ". In contrast, most continual assessments are used to evaluate on time period basis. It would be difficult to judge if the times pass, the result would be. Despite its benefits, the drawback of taking exam obviously is no feedback after the test. The results have been announced publicly after the test, the test taker would not know what the mistakes in the paper test are. To illustrate, most results are shown in either the ordinary prize, or sum up to scores. Whilst ongoing assessments have provided some advice from the mentors, then the mentee would know what is the wrong thing that they missed. Normally, it works like the mentorship program; give and take. To conclude, the written examinations have been an essential evaluated method in educational system, especially for a time-effective way. However, the continual exams have provided feedbacks to student for their skill improvement. In my perspective, we can gather two methods to make an evaluation for achieving more success.