Every year several languages die out. Some people think that is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. to what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There are many languages in the world that are dying and others that are in danger of being lost forever. Some claim that this is something we do not need to worry about because life would be easier if we had a small number of languages. In my opinion, they are right, however, it is also necessary to preserve the languages that nobody speaks anymore. In recent times, the number of languages in use is dropping dramatically. There are many reasons for this, the most important one being globalization making some languages worthless. People are more interconnected now than at any other time in history. The distance between 2 people is not a barrier anymore because of technological advancements in communication such as the internet. Minority languages are at a disadvantage because the number of people you can communicate with is extremely reduced. That is why is more convenient for some people to teach their children how to speak a more widely used language than their own native one. For example, in India, many families teach their offspring English instead of their regional dialects because they know that speaking English is a major skill and it is better for them to learn it as a primary language because that way children will have better fluency and understanding of it. That exemplifies why, in general, the more people speak a language, the more useful it becomes. Consequently, if there were fewer languages more people would speak the same one and, therefore, they would be more useful. However, languages are part of our history and culture and we need to be able to understand them in the future in order to be able to understand our past. Therefore, it is paramount to preserve dying languages for future generations. This can be done in many different ways. For instance, recording words pronunciation in audio, writing the grammar rules in books, etc. That way, the people that want to understand the language will be able to do it. To conclude, fewer languages will make them more useful but we need to preserve the others for future generations.