In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Even though there has been a global effort to mitigate famine, the food crises are still alive and affecting people. The reasons for this worrying trend clearly need to be analyzed, and ways of exterminating hunger have to be found. Over recent decades, hunger has been strongly interconnected with poverty, and it involves interactions among an array of socio-economic, political and environmental factors. Firstly, individuals living in poverty frequently face household food insecurity, use inappropriate care practices and live in an unsafe ambiances that has low access to quality water, sanitation and hygiene, all of which contribute to food deprivation. In addition, conflicts are also a key driver of severe food crises. Hunger and undernutrition are worse when warfare is prolonged and institutions are weak. Finally, weather-related events have also impacted food availability. Many famines are precipitated by natural causes, such as drought, flooding and typhoons. A range of strategies might be used to arrest this issue. First and foremost, the authorities could promote democracy and craft rules to prevent a catastrophic disruption. Countries with stable economies and strong institutions can better combat the conditions that lead to famine. Additionally, from a corporate outlook, farmers can connect to the market. In this context, providing the opportunity to agronomists to sell their crops to reliable buyers and teach them sustainable and modern agricultural practices may bring value to the agricultural industry, boosting national food security over time. Finally, from a micro perspective, individuals should spread awareness. Ordinary people can help to end hunger simply by spreading consciousness and contacting their friends and family. Such awareness can put pressure on legislators to implement programs to combat famine. In conclusion, measures could be introduced to reverse the food crises and at least diminish hunger. However, I am not wildly optimistic that the federal government and the agricultural industry will prioritize this issue. It seems likely that there will be an ongoing aggravation in the food supply chain and by consequence, this can worsen the famine worldwide.