The government spends about 220 million a year supporting museums and galleries in the UK, and a similar amount subsidizing the visual and performing arts. This is a huge sum to spend on minority interests, and the money would be better spent on more important things. It should be up to the people who enjoy cultural attractions to pay for them. What are your views.

It is controversial that the government has devoted a high amount of subsidies to support cultural activities such as artworks or museums. There is no doubt that this amount should be spent on other areas such as education and healthcare sections. Some opponents reject this as they believe that culture is not a trivial matter. I would further explain both of the views in this essay. First of all, some people argue that the people who prefer to visit the art museums should afford the entrance fees by themselves such that the income can be used to support the running costs of the museums. In addition, given that money spent on cultural activities is to the minority group, it is believed that government should better allocate the resources for the majority group such as education for children or healthcare for the elderly. On the other hand, some people argue that money should be spent on cultural activities as they embed the heritage of the country. Despite it being a minority interest, it can bring economic benefits to the country as it can be considered a tourist attraction and thus increase the country’s reputation for artworks. The art work can be used to place in the international art competition and more people around the world acknowledge the heritage of the country.   In conclusion, I believe that the benefits of spending on cultural attractions should not be neglected as long as the government also allocate the resources which benefit for the majority group.