The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

It is a widely-held belief that shopping centres may be closed in the near future by increasing the popularity of online shopping. I agree with this matter due to some compelling reasons, and will be explained in this essay. Firstly, as purchasing online is a more convenient way of shopping, it is gaining fame among customers nowadays. Thus, it may cause societies to be less willing to go shopping in the shopping centres. This matter would lead these centres to be closed subsequently. For instance, in recent years, due to the Covid crisis, online shopping has become more popular among people worldwide as people prefer remote shopping rather than imperil their health by going outside. Moreover, by online shopping, people have the chance of acquiring goods from the retailers who only sell online without having any stores in towns. Therefore, people would have more options when buying merchandise provided they did shopping online. This may lead to an increase in popularity of this way rather than going to shopping centres which may cause them to close. Admittedly, those who oppose the notion believe that some people will always be interested in obtaining goods from brick-and-mortar stores which gives them the chance to touch and see the item closely. Indeed, there would always be customers for shops, preventing them from being closed. However, as most people believe in the benefits of online shopping and do it accordingly, shops will probably be closed shortly. To conclude, although some people are interested in buying items from shops, it seems that shopping centres may be closed in the near future based on some grounds such as being a more comfortable way of buying goods and having more options in selecting the items needed.