Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Many nations have become interesting in the use of solar energy which my opinion, is mainly due to the price and availability. However, although the source of energy is renewable and last forever, it still may harm the environment. Nowadays, many governments are striving to replace fossil fuels energy with renewable sources such as solar. One of the main reasons for this trend is the climate change that is mostly has been happening because of the overuse of fossil fuels such as coal and oil. Therefore, environmental activists have suggested that household energy be produced through solar energy instead of burning fossil fuels. Another reason may be the increasing cost of traditional energy sources because they are going to be finished. Many people around the world, even in countries with high altitudes such as Sweden, prefer to use solar energy as their main source which is inexpensive and also available. For example, electricity from the grid may not be accessible in remote areas in contrast to the sun which is ubiquitous. However, the use of solar energy is a two-sided sword and there are both advantages and disadvantages to that. The main benefit is that this source of energy is renewable and subsequently there is no worry of vanishing or finishing it. As mentioned above, it also is available everywhere, therefore, there is no monopoly. For Instance, due to the Russian invasion of Ukraine and many sanctions on the former country, Putin has threatened EU countries to not sell the gas while it would be impossible if those nations used solar energy as their main source. On the other hand, the batteries that are needed to convert solar energy to electricity are not recyclable and may cause another environmental issue. In conclusion, there are reasons such as affordability and availability of solar energy for its increasing popularity. Nevertheless, it seems to me that this source of energy is not all beneficial, although it is renewable.