Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Throughout our history, potable water has always been an issue in some parts of the world. Due to the waste of water nowadays, this problem has become more serious. I will discuss the main reasons that could lead to this problem and what people should do to tackle this issue. One of the main reasons that may affect our water is the expansion of urban areas in some countries. To explain this, more and more buildings will be built; therefore, lands and rivers will be destroyed or changed for the demand of buildings, which can affect creatures around the environment. Moreover, the water that we used to drink in the past is no longer in use as potable water. Another factor leading to this phenomenon is that some countries prefer to use high-tech industries to save electricity. For example, in some big countries, the government prefers to build dams in some big rivers or canals to produce electricity. This action can lead to the shortage of water; therefore, people will not have enough water for consumption and other activities. There are numerous solutions that can solve these problems. One of the most effective solutions is that governments from all over the world should work together to find out the most effective methods to deal with these issues. Moreover, some factories and power plants should apply some proper control to reduce the effects on the environment. Among the governments, citizens should take some actions such as opening some public seminars to raise awareness of the importance of water and how to use water in an effective way. In conclusion, the shortage of water has become one of the most challenging problems our world is facing today. Therefore governments and civilians should work together to tackle this problem once and for all.