Some people think that public health is the responsibility of the government while others think that people should be responsible for their own health. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate about who is responsible for the state of public health. However, whereas some people claim that this should be the duty of government, I agree with those who think people themselves should be responsible for this, while the government also needs to take actions encouraging its citizens to lead healthier lives. With regard to the role of government, an important one is to ensure that citizens achieve a certain level of fitness and health. This is because the income that the government generates from its tax payers suppose to be allocated to different sectors, and one of which is the public health system. If the government does not pay enough attention to improving public health, more people would be more vulnerable to diseases and illness, which would become a burden on public hospitals and tax payers. Therefore, the government should focus on how to improve people ’s health and encourage them to live a healthier life. As for individuals, there is no doubt that they should be more responsible for their own health than others, because no one can actually suffer the pain for them. In addition, health problems will not only affect people themselves, but also their family members. For example, if a person is sick, his family will need to pay a large amount of money to treat his illness, which may cause the family to suffer financial difficulties. Therefore, people should take the greatest obligation for their own health and not leave it to the government. In conclusion, I believe, although individuals should take more responsibility for their own health, meanwhile, the government also need to take measures to improve the level of public health.