Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected types of relationships people make? Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, owing to the sophistication in technology, the mode of interaction in society has taken a paradigm shift. Although online communication comes with easy access, I believe it is affecting folk's relationships negatively in spite of strengthening the bonds of the community. Admittedly, humans can communicate easily with their loved ones, who are especially living overseas through smartphones. That is to say that the feature of video calls on cellphones via skype or duo allows families to see each other virtually and connect emotionally at any time frame, regardless of the place they are living in. In, fact several Indians living in Canada admitted in a survey that the advent of video calling makes them feel less alienated. However, when it comes to communicating in the bygone era, the human population had to send letters through the post, which requires a month for the reply back to come, therefore making communication time consuming and less frequent. This is not the case with new technology. Notwithstanding this,online communication instead of making bonds robust is actually degrading the bond quality. To explain, because of the over-availability of the population over phones, they spend almost half of their day talking to their friends, colleagues, and clients. As a result, family time suffers as the working elite is often seen on calls even after working hours. This lack of attention given by the husband was cited as one of the reasons for the divorce by several females in the US. Hence, this essay argues that telecommunication is actually drifting the ways of people apart. In conclusion, technology with its modern characteristics is creating an illusion to connect people,, nevertheless it is actually impacting people's lives adversely.