In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

Undoubtedly, shopping has morphed into a hobby in the past 10 years. Some believe that retail therapy is a way to help people release dopamine and get pleasure hormones. From my perspective, I strongly feel that shopping as a hobby is not a positive trend. One prime reason is the fact that shopping will cause pollution in the environment. Most brands make trends that make people buy them instead of classic items. This is not sustainable for the environment. Moreover, overconsumption is another major problem. As people purchase more products, it demands more resources from the planet. Because of Covid-19, online shopping becomes a trend in society. However, online shipping makes pollution worse because of packing. As we unbox items, we throw away the boxes and they end up in landfills. This will damage the ecosystem as well. In addition, shopping as a hobby might become an addiction and cause financial problems. As you keep shopping, it becomes harder to stop. As a shopaholic, you will do impulse buying and waste a huge amount of money on it. For example, you spend $2,000 each week on shoes and clothes. This becomes $8,000 a month but you still have other financial responsibilities. If you are too into it, you could end up spending all your money on fashion stuff. As a result, you buy more, then you add extra stress to your life. In conclusion, even though people support shopping can be a hobby, I do believe that human nature will make people be carried away shopping and result in huge problems we could not tackle.