Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries. Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

The formality to get promoted to the next level in an institution is to clear the examinations or annual tests globally. Apparently, there are more positive benefits than negative effects of exams in the educational area which will be discussed below. To begin with, the exams are conducted periodically and they facilitate the fair assessment of students to teachers who play a vital role in students' academic growth. Through such knowledge checks, pupils are thoughtful of studying and achieving good scores to prove themselves as great scholar. Although, these tests with smaller or longer duration may demotivate the attempters with low score but it generates healthy competition among children in educational bodies. For example, the examinee prepares with a motive to stand out of crowd and they earn fame and a name in school by acquiring more grades than their mates. Moreover, grade obtained by students through various level of examinations in distinct subjects, depicts the interest area of a student. For instance, a bachelor who has obtained 50 marks in maths and 80 in computers seems to be more curious to pursue expertise on computers rather than being a mathematician. However, scores obtained during tests can be increased or decreased along with time and change of interests and sometimes this may discourage the children. But they will eventually understand their focus area and work on it. To conclude, with the help of examinations a reader, reviewer and guardian all can track progress and involve the reader in a healthy competition. Moreover, exams clarify the area of study which would be favourable for the student.