Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that the main environmental issue of our time is the disappearance of particular species of animals and plants. While I agree that this does affect the environment, I believe that the global warming issue is far more important. Every year there is at least one type of animal or plant at risk of extinction. Excessive hunting has contributed to the loss of these species. For example, white rhinoceroses are almost extinct due to the mass hunting for their horns. However, I believe that global warming has a far more greater impact to the overall environment. Global warming has been a problem for the longest time. Over the past few years, our Earth's temperature has going up as a result of greenhouse effect, which leads to the ice melting in the two Poles, threating the lives of the polar bears. Consequently, it also causes the rise of the sea level and shifts the season. To conclude, while the loss of particular species of animals and plants is a problem, there is a greater problem that the world has to deal with, which is global warming.