Some governments spend a lot of public money training individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

All games and sports require hard work and dedication to excel on international level. To assist an athlete excellent training and coaching facilities are imperative for improvements. Hence, I strongly agree that governments should use the tax payer money to fully fund all international athletes. Complete support from government is necessary because government bodies provide structure and the world class training facilites costly to be borne only by the sportsperson. Firstly, any country need a solid foundation and structure to nurture successful international players. A structure in the field of sports will ensure good talent hunt and trickle down of opportunities to the grass root level. In my knowledge, Australia has excellent sporting structure, because of which it has many successful athletes in Cricket, Olympics and Tennis. Secondly, for any player to achive greatness, they need to continously improve their performance. With advancement in sports science, amenities such as Ice bath and cyrotherapy hydrotherapy are essential to maintain muscle strength and body weight. In addition, world class training grounds / courts and coaches are required to help an athlete significantly improve their skills and abilities. From my personal experience, I have seen my country, India investing in world class facilities for all the athletes due to which my India's sportsperson has won many trophies and accolades on international level since last 5 years. To sum it up, as international athletes represent their country across the globe, they become a symbol of pride for the entire country. Hence, I strongly agree that governemnt should invest efforts to put a proper structure in place for sports individuals to flourish and make quality training equipments, machines, and facilities accessible to all international athletes.