Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued whether one should accept any unfavourable situation as it is or keep on trying to change it in their favour by making little improvements. I agree with the latter opinion as it is only because of the need to improve constantly that humans have progressed and made the world a better place to live in. One reason for individuals to accept any bad outcome is that they believe nothing is as bad as it seems. In other words, they hold that any situation can go far worse than how bad it already is, and thus, they should be happy with whatever they have gotten in life. For example, a person recently fired from a job may see any other individual who had just lost a parent in an accident along with being fired from work, which makes the former think that things are not that bad, and they can make peace with it. Moreover, not everyone has the extra willingness needed to go the extra mile to bring the change required. Hence, many people consider that accepting the current situation is a better option. On the other hand, not giving up and constantly trying to work for the betterment of the situation is the sole way of growing in life. While it was tough, it was only through multiple hits and misses our species have evolved to survive over the years, and as a result, now we all enjoy a better standard of life. For instance, the discovery of the light bulb was only possible because Benjamin Graham refused to accept his defeat despite thousands of failed attempts, else we would have missed out on an important innovation. In addition, the feeling of making progress is an important factor that keeps us happy irrespective of how small or slow the change may be. So, one should always strive to be a better version of themselves. In conclusion, though the acceptance of unfavourable situations can be justified for certain severe situations, it should not be the default response to every problem. We all must try to improve as it is very much required for our very existence in the future.